Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2009, 07:09 PM   #1
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Tech Suport are Morons

So my intertubes went down yesterday and I had to call Comcast. Now let me say that GENERALLY I've had good luck with Comcast. Good up time and very fast speeds. But I needed to get the net back up because the family uses it for business. So as always I call up as someone who is completely technologically illiterate. This is what I learned:
- Comcast gives you 50Gb of bandwidth (Lies, it's actually 250GB a month)
- Watching videos on sites like netflix, hulu, and youtube is "streaming" and doesn't use bandwidth because it doesn't save on your harddrive (How do they know?)
- Uploading is not bandwidth (Because "bandwidth" is only when things are saved to your harddrive, see?)

Conclusion: Comcast tech support are MORONS. If I didn't know better, I would have actually fallen for his shit. How do people like this get jobs?
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 07:31 PM   #2
provost
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Class/Position: Defensive HW
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I believe anyone who can read what a monitor screen tells them to say can work as tech support.

Wanna hear a good one? Called circuit city the other day.

I speak french and in french six ( 6 ) is pronounced '' Siss ''

And when i asked if they had any wifi linkSYS (6 ?) router they told me they only had linkFIVE in stock.

LinkFive Routers... save one for me i'm buyin it.
__________________
Creativity is what this sig lacks the most.
provost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 08:19 PM   #3
MonoXideAtWork
Pub Allstar!
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Class/Position: under en kvinna
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: Eternal Order, Must be h4x, Mono's happy funtime.
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
comcast caps your monthly upload/download? That's news.
MonoXideAtWork is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
I'd like to say that the Windows tech support guys are abso-fucking-lutely amazing.

My dad had to reinstall windows 7 because he didn't like some setting he had... or something. I'm not really sure the reason, but he did it. Anyway, he had a problem while installing it (not user error) and the windows guy quickly realized the issue buuuuuuuut it was sorta top-secret stuff. I mean, I could tell you what it was, but I dunno, you can google probably.

Anyway, he got the O.K. to tell him the biggest Windows 7 secret on the planet and, after that, he sat there and made sure everything was going good.

After that, a Microsoft rep called and made sure everything went well. Also, the guy who did the tech support stuff sent my dad an e-mail making sure everything went well. The next day, another Microsoft rep called to make sure everything went fine.

__________________
"The nine most terrifying words in the English language are: 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'"

Ronald Reagan
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 09:54 PM   #5
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga View Post
So my intertubes went down yesterday and I had to call Comcast. Now let me say that GENERALLY I've had good luck with Comcast. Good up time and very fast speeds. But I needed to get the net back up because the family uses it for business. So as always I call up as someone who is completely technologically illiterate. This is what I learned:
- Comcast gives you 50Gb of bandwidth (Lies, it's actually 250GB a month)
- Watching videos on sites like netflix, hulu, and youtube is "streaming" and doesn't use bandwidth because it doesn't save on your harddrive (How do they know?)
- Uploading is not bandwidth (Because "bandwidth" is only when things are saved to your harddrive, see?)

Conclusion: Comcast tech support are MORONS. If I didn't know better, I would have actually fallen for his shit. How do people like this get jobs?

This will make ya scream

Comcast Tech : " What OS are you running "

Me : "OS X - Snow Leopard and Fedora"

Comcast Tech : "What is Fedora"

Me : "Linux"

Comcast : " Are you running any anti-virus or anti-spyware on this machine"

Enough said.
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 10:16 PM   #6
KubeDawg
Nade Whore
Server Owner
Beta Tester
 
KubeDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Class/Position: Scout/Soldier
Gametype: CTF/TDM
Affiliations: blunt. Moto
Posts Rated Helpful 128 Times
Yeah, fixed title should read "Comcast Tech Support are Morons"

They really need to start putting Cox comm in locations where they offer Comcast. It's a much better company, and they offer up to 25m down and 5m up connections. I've always had success with their tech support here.
__________________
Moto's Funhouse | Dallas, TX - 74.91.114.247:27015

ff_plunder - Complete
KubeDawg is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 11:28 PM   #7
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonoXideAtWork View Post
comcast caps your monthly upload/download? That's news.
Comcast has been "limiting" bandwidth to 250GB a month for well over a year now, I think. They don't really limit you. If you cross 250, you "may get a warning letting warning you of excessive bandwidth usage." If it happens again (within a year, I think) You get kicked off of Comcast. Some how I have yet to hit that mark. I get worried because not only do I download a lot... but My sisters stream TV shows all the time and my parents also use the internet all day long...
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-10-2009, 11:34 PM   #8
MonoXideAtWork
Pub Allstar!
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Class/Position: under en kvinna
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: Eternal Order, Must be h4x, Mono's happy funtime.
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Do they provide you free webspace?
MonoXideAtWork is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 01:12 AM   #9
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga View Post
Comcast has been "limiting" bandwidth to 250GB a month for well over a year now, I think. They don't really limit you. If you cross 250, you "may get a warning letting warning you of excessive bandwidth usage." If it happens again (within a year, I think) You get kicked off of Comcast. Some how I have yet to hit that mark. I get worried because not only do I download a lot... but My sisters stream TV shows all the time and my parents also use the internet all day long...
I got a warning when I hit the 2TB mark ;D
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 01:16 AM   #10
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonoXideAtWork View Post
Do they provide you free webspace?
Who Know? Who cares?
Webspace is cheap. I've owned my own webspace for many many years now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricey View Post
I got a warning when I hit the 2TB mark ;D
How did you hit the 2 TB mark!? I download a LOT and still don't hit that. Are you pirating a large amount of HD TV shows and Games?
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 05:04 AM   #11
MonoXideAtWork
Pub Allstar!
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Class/Position: under en kvinna
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Affiliations: Eternal Order, Must be h4x, Mono's happy funtime.
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
whoa buddy.
MonoXideAtWork is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 05:55 AM   #12
Suite307
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Lucky guys, my provider gives me 30gb ( that's upload /download combined ) of bandwith per month for like 50$ a month
Suite307 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 07:43 AM   #13
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Actually I've had pretty good luck with Comcast here. The modem we got from them is finnicky as hell but they've walked us through getting it set up initially and when we changed out routers.

The only interesting story I have from them involves our service. We've got the 22 Mbps service, and have had it for a few months now. We're the only ones in the area that bothered to get it, as far as I know.

Anyway, at first we noticed no speed increase. We topped out at about 2,000 kbps down, roughly a 6 Mbps connection (according to the speed test's math). So we would call them and complain, and they'd say well according to this you've got the 22 Mbps. We're not sure what's going on, so we'll send a tech down.

So the tech gets here and scopes out the house, everything is fine internally, the routers are configured properly, the modem is functioning, etc. So he heads outside.

For those of you familiar with cable, you know that splitters are generally a bad thing, and they can pretty severely downgrade the quality of a signal coming through it. The tech came back in, 3 splitters in his hand, and told us that they were connected to the main cable, right as it enters the house, for absolutely no reason. He removed them, replaced the cable for good measure, and we should be fine now.

We checked the speed. 20,000 kbps. Best part, though? No charge for the service, and in fact we were refunded 3 months' worth of the difference between 6 and 22 Mbps service. That's pretty fuckin' hard to beat.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 10:14 AM   #14
Marshmallow Noob
D&A Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
That is pretty sweet.
Marshmallow Noob is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 05:23 PM   #15
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
haha, good deal Circuitous!

Comcast is actaully great a majority of the time. I just hate having to deal with tech suport.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-11-2009, 09:18 PM   #16
Ricey
UI Designer
Front-End Developer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ricey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winter Park, FL
Class/Position: D Eng
Gametype: CTF 9v9
Affiliations: .gr , smr
Posts Rated Helpful 46 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga View Post
Who Know? Who cares?
Webspace is cheap. I've owned my own webspace for many many years now.



How did you hit the 2 TB mark!? I download a LOT and still don't hit that. Are you pirating a large amount of HD TV shows and Games?


Yea, anime, was running a IRC Bot
__________________
Support FF:
Maps : Haste |Scrummage |Mulch_Trench
Voltage | Exchange Classic | Fortsake
ricecakes: I demand SGs get a buff
squeek.: buy it a gym membership


'I have an eye for design' - Kube 2014
Ricey is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 11-14-2009, 04:14 PM   #17
Innoc
Hitman 2 1 Actual
 
Innoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: "Oscar Mike"
Gametype: FPS or RTS (just say NO to MMO)
Affiliations: Your Mom
Posts Rated Helpful 8 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Innoc Send a message via AIM to Innoc Send a message via MSN to Innoc Send a message via Yahoo to Innoc
First tier helpdesk/support is a mixed bag regardless of the company. Generally those who are good at what they do won't stay there very long. Those who are very bad eventually get booted. Pay isn't generally enough to keep someone with any ambition and/or ability for any length of time. So you end up with a parade of new hires or people with mediocre skills who are reading from a troubleshooting tree and forcing you to play along on the home version of the game.

That said...Dell's Gold Enterprise first tier team is pretty damned good...mostly because I don't think that Enterprise Customers will put up with anything else.
__________________
Mooga on Obama: He can cut taxes. Actually do something useful. Punch Nancy Pelosi in the face. Just to name a few.

You eventually run out of other people's money to spend.
Innoc is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bandwidth, comcast, fail


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.