Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2008, 03:57 PM   #1
BinaryLife
Posts: 1 bajillion
D&A Member
Wiki Team
 
BinaryLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Send a message via AIM to BinaryLife
Help with computer

I'm assuming my problem is virus or spyware related, but I can't seem to find any. Before I format and start over I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions.

Running windows xp professional.
1 gig of ram
pentium d
ati graphics card hd xd 2300 (or something like that)


Anyway, I had my computer and my laptop networked together to allow for remote desktops and net send as well as file sharing of course. I had made no changes to either system. I was using my laptop to remote to my desktop (the one that is currently experiencing problems) and I got an error message telling me the the computer was unresponsive. I went upstairs to check on it and the screen was black except for the cursor.

As I played with it I realised that everything was still running the way it should I just couldnt' see anything other than the cursor. For example, if I pressed the windows key, pressed "r" and then enter. I could execute run commands. I could go so far as to open the command prompt and net send the laptop. As long as I remembered my hotkeys I could still perform operations. I couldn't manage a screen shot though, sadly. And of course I cant' see, so using aim, internet browsing and playing FF are sure to fail.

The computer works normally in safe mode so:
Things I've already tried:
Graphics Drivers, removal cleaning and updating.
Spyware checks
Virus Checks
Booting in diagnostic mode (still fails to load visuals other than my cursor)
Different monitors
Different graphics inputs. (straight to the mother board)
System restore (using windows xp)
-This one is strange. I restored to a date where the computer was working correctly. This method does not change downloaded files and such, so it wouldn't effect spyware/viruses, however if I made changes to the system it would effect that. Anyway, after it processed the restore it turned back on and functioned normally for a minute or too. Then immidiately returned. This leads me to believe it's a virus or malware of some kind.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Worst case I can format and restart. I have most of my stuff backed up, but not all and I'm reallllllly lazy and don't like reinstalling stuff.
BinaryLife is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-19-2008, 04:00 PM   #2
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
I direct you, my friend, to the sacred Three Rs of windows.

Reboot
Reinstall
Reformat

If standard virus scans and the like caught nothing, back up your data and get to reinstalling.
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-19-2008, 05:07 PM   #3
BinaryLife
Posts: 1 bajillion
D&A Member
Wiki Team
 
BinaryLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Send a message via AIM to BinaryLife
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihmhi
I direct you, my friend, to the sacred Three Rs of windows.

Reboot
Reinstall
Reformat

If standard virus scans and the like caught nothing, back up your data and get to reinstalling.

*sniff*


But I'm laaaazzzzyyyyyyy
BinaryLife is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-21-2008, 06:07 AM   #4
Suite307
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
HOUUSSSECALLLL!
Suite307 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-24-2008, 08:37 PM   #5
BinaryLife
Posts: 1 bajillion
D&A Member
Wiki Team
 
BinaryLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
Send a message via AIM to BinaryLife
Damn, this resulted in a fresh format.

Deleted all partitions deleted all info installed it as if I was starting from scratch

But it works now, so go team. downloading FF patches now.
BinaryLife is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.