Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2009, 05:47 PM   #21
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
anything that uses GST will work seamlessly with pulse, as it has a pulsesink module.
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2009, 04:19 PM   #22
Mulchman MM
Retired FF Staff
 
Mulchman MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lacey, WA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Mulchman MM Send a message via AIM to Mulchman MM Send a message via MSN to Mulchman MM Send a message via Yahoo to Mulchman MM Send a message via Skype™ to Mulchman MM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose View Post
It looks like they don't play well together. Can't you use Rhythmbox, Totem, or xmms?
I have a weird combination of things I want the 'audio player of choice' to be able to do.

1) play rtsp (Real Audio) streams - I listen to a Jim Rome stream every week day from 9 AM to noon
2) be able to make a playlist of rtsp streams (like when I listen to an archive version of Jim Rome show - there are about 10 streams and each have an actual end and they need to be in a logical order)
3) play mp3's
4) route through PulseAudio
  • RhythmBox can do all but 2. It's okay to use for the live stream as it's a turn on and forget type of thing but for the archive shows it doesn't work as the streams can't be sorted inside the radio playlist thing in RhythmBox (at least I haven't found a way to do this)
  • Amarok 1.4 can do all 4 but has been locking up on me lately
  • I get no sound out of Totem (?)
  • Haven't tried Xmms in a long long time

At the moment I'm using a combination of MPlayer (technically Gnome MPlayer) & Amarok. MPlayer's been rock solid playing the stream during the morning radio show and then I use Amarok once the show is over to play any mp3's.

I also have another layer in here in that I work inside a virtual machine all day and typically I have it fullscreen'd and taking over both monitors (and jumping out of this setup to manage playback functionality or restart stuff is painful**). So, I wrote a Python UDP server (uses DCOP to talk to Amarok) that runs on the host Ubuntu system then inside the virtual machine I have a UDP remote control app I wrote that sends commands to the Python UDP server (which then relays the commands via DCOP to Amarok). Due to the prior work on the server & client I'm really keen on keeping Amarok around so I don't have to write some other kind of remote control wrapper for another player. (And I'm also keen on keeping Amarok 1.4 since the DCOP interface [I think] has changed for Amarok 2.)

** - Yes, I could always VNC into the host OS from the virtual machine (or SSH in) and kill/restart stuff but don't want to.
__________________
Head of the Orca Revolution (TM)

Last edited by Mulchman MM; 04-29-2009 at 04:28 PM.
Mulchman MM is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2009, 04:30 PM   #23
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Reading all this shit, it sounds like you killed a fly with a spiked bat, congrats!
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2009, 04:58 PM   #24
Mulchman MM
Retired FF Staff
 
Mulchman MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lacey, WA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Mulchman MM Send a message via AIM to Mulchman MM Send a message via MSN to Mulchman MM Send a message via Yahoo to Mulchman MM Send a message via Skype™ to Mulchman MM
Harrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Mulchman MM is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2009, 07:45 PM   #25
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
http://mervaka.co.uk/~mervaka/rtsp_totem.png

totem ticks all your boxes just fine for me.. are you using Luke Yelavich's PPA yet?

Last edited by mervaka; 04-30-2009 at 03:36 PM.
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2009, 08:34 PM   #26
Mulchman MM
Retired FF Staff
 
Mulchman MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lacey, WA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Mulchman MM Send a message via AIM to Mulchman MM Send a message via MSN to Mulchman MM Send a message via Yahoo to Mulchman MM Send a message via Skype™ to Mulchman MM
No, can you post a reason as to why I should be? My PulseAudio server & libs are at 0.9.14.

And actually, I misspoke about Totem - it works just fine on this [Ubuntu 9.04] box. It's another [Ubuntu 8.04] box where RhythmBox works but Totem does not but I don't play audio on that box really so it doesn't matter.
__________________
Head of the Orca Revolution (TM)
Mulchman MM is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-30-2009, 03:39 PM   #27
mervaka
A Very Sound Guy!
Fortress Forever Staff
 
mervaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts Rated Helpful 15 Times
mervaka is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-01-2009, 05:34 PM   #28
Mulchman MM
Retired FF Staff
 
Mulchman MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lacey, WA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to Mulchman MM Send a message via AIM to Mulchman MM Send a message via MSN to Mulchman MM Send a message via Yahoo to Mulchman MM Send a message via Skype™ to Mulchman MM
__________________
Head of the Orca Revolution (TM)

Last edited by Mulchman MM; 05-01-2009 at 05:39 PM.
Mulchman MM is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.