Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2012, 11:53 PM   #41
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 293 Times
That did make FF a selectable option in sdk, but when I go to launch hammer it tells me the gameinfo.txt doesn't exist. I've checked and it is exactly where hammer says it doesn't exist.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 12:46 AM   #42
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
This is always a pain. My way of getting around it is to have HL2DM installed, going to steamapps\<username>\half-life 2 deathmatch\hl2mp and copy+pasting gameinfo.txt from FortressForever into that folder. That (hopefully) allows me to launch Hammer for HL2DM, and then I create a Fortress Forever config, restart Hammer/SDK, and then launch with Fortress Forever selected.

Haven't had to do it in a while, though, so I'm not sure if it still works.
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 01:04 AM   #43
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 293 Times
Le sigh. Fuck hammer. Squeek do you happen to remember how to set up a fake game to run through hammer? I believe you're the one to instructed me on it the first time. It looks like it will be the only way to set up a new config or what ever for FF. As I don't have hl2dm.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 01:26 AM   #44
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
You can try just making that hl2mp folder and seeing if it behaves the same way.
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 08-18-2012 at 01:26 AM.
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 07:51 AM   #45
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 293 Times
I got it to work. Thank you oaties and squeek.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 07:57 AM   #46
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Out of curiosity/for future reference, what did you do?
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 12:49 PM   #47
moosh
WhenNailGrenWillOut?
Beta Tester
 
moosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gametype: mp_prematch
Affiliations: [:)] - Frag Happy, babe|
Posts Rated Helpful 29 Times
For some reason I never had any problems like this, lucky.
__________________
[[ ff_hotfudge - bhop_theonlyone ]]
"As the the new year approaches I await for it like an case of explosive fecalomania otherwise know as diareha or the massive shits. I am gripping the sides of the toilet as my stomach produces the first hollow thud out of the anus of the year to come." DarkeN_HellspawN
moosh is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 06:12 PM   #48
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 293 Times
What oaties gave me did it. I just had some pathing problems. I use \program files (x86)\
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-18-2012, 07:54 PM   #49
oaties
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 38 Times
No problem, haha i forgot about different operating systems and install paths D:
oaties is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 08-19-2012, 11:17 PM   #50
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
Protip: once you get gameconfig.txt working, make it read-only so that the SDK can't break it again (just remember to set it back before you try to change something).
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 06-19-2013, 11:00 PM   #51
FDA_Approved
Beta Tester
 
FDA_Approved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 293 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by oaties View Post
FDA, im going to show you the easiest way ever to setup hammer, dont even have to launch hammer. It's what I had to do because of stupid hammer bugs.

1. First, navigate to your steam user account folder, which should be C:/program files/steam/steamapps/youraccountname/

2. Then open the sourcesdk folder, then bin, then ep1, then bin again.

3. Open up GameConfig.txt and replace everything in it with this:

Code:
"Configs"
{
	"Games"
	{
		"Fortress Forever"
		{
			"GameDir"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever"
			"hammer"
			{
				"GameData0"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\ff_base.fgd"
				"GameData1"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\fortressforever.fgd"
				"TextureFormat"		"5"
				"MapFormat"		"4"
				"DefaultTextureScale"		"0.250000"
				"DefaultLightmapScale"		"16"
				"DefaultSolidEntity"		"func_detail"
				"DefaultPointEntity"		"info_ff_script"
				"BSP"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\yournamehere\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vbsp.exe"
				"Vis"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\yournamehere\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vvis.exe"
				"Light"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\yournamehere\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vrad.exe"
				"GameExeDir"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever"
				"MapDir"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps\vmf"
				"BSPDir"		"c:\program files\steam\steamapps\sourcemods\FortressForever\maps"
				"CordonTexture"		"tools/toolsskybox"
				"MaterialExcludeCount"		"0"
			}
		}
	}
	"SDKVersion"		"2"
}
4. After that is all pasted in, while the txt document is still open, hold CTRL + H to open the text replace tool. Replace all the "yournamehere" with your steam account name.

Should work after that.
This post should be put somewhere more readily available. Everyone that I've talked to after using this post has had trouble setting up Hammer as per the usual way. I always show them this and then it works.


Follow the directions in this post

Make sure to rename NOT ONLY your steam account name in the gameconfig.txt, BUT ALSO your program files path. (e.g. if you use /program files (x86) put that instead)

Run hammer and select the 2006 engine, no others will work.

Then map.
__________________
Currently equipped: Rad Scarf of liberating happiness.
FDA_Approved is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-20-2013, 03:17 PM   #52
ian.de
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 14 Times
What a cutie
ian.de is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-26-2013, 11:30 AM   #53
clSchak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Germany - near Muenster
Class/Position: Engineer D
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via ICQ to clSchak
The editing of the config dont work, the error: "Failed to load default schema file" can be fixed:

enable SteamPipe on HL EP1+2 and HL2DM (receive Beta Update)

Found at http://forum.interlopers.net/viewtop...=37119#p499164
clSchak is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-02-2014, 06:55 PM   #54
aleXtric
#FF.Pickup Dictator
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Detroit
Gametype: ADL
Affiliations: KiNGz .
Posts Rated Helpful 100 Times
how do i set up hammer with steam pipe? idk what the guy above is talking about
__________________
!add
#FF.Pickup - Quakenet

http://www.ffpickup.com/?p=irc
aleXtric is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-02-2014, 07:47 PM   #55
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleXtric View Post
how do i set up hammer with steam pipe? idk what the guy above is talking about
What's not working for you?
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-03-2014, 02:03 AM   #56
aleXtric
#FF.Pickup Dictator
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Detroit
Gametype: ADL
Affiliations: KiNGz .
Posts Rated Helpful 100 Times
before i used oats' gameconfig but it doesnt work anymore since the folders arent the same i guess.
__________________
!add
#FF.Pickup - Quakenet

http://www.ffpickup.com/?p=irc
aleXtric is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-03-2014, 02:26 AM   #57
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleXtric View Post
before i used oats' gameconfig but it doesnt work anymore since the folders arent the same i guess.
What about it doesn't work? That part should still work the same I believe.
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-03-2014, 02:23 PM   #58
ddm999
worst ff player eu
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Yorks., England
Class/Position: o - no, d - scout
Gametype: IvDZ
Posts Rated Helpful 18 Times
I think he means he's either using a 64-bit architecture - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever";
a different Steam install place - say, "C:\Steam\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressForever ";
or it's in a Steam Library - "Z:\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\sourcemods\FortressFore ver";

As in the folder setup is different for him.

(Also, my GameConfig.txt uses SDKVersion 3, whereas the above uses SDKVersion 2. Mine works normally and, well, as perfect as hammer is, aka. shit, but what's with the difference? Will my Hammer have certain settings that won't have an effect in FF? Or is SDKVersion 2 wrong, and he'll have stuff missing?)

edit: dammit stop putting spaces in stuff, forum
__________________
gg ff not ded
ff very much alive

Last edited by ddm999; 01-03-2014 at 02:24 PM.
ddm999 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-04-2014, 12:27 AM   #59
squeek.
Stuff Do-er
Lua Team
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
squeek.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern California
Class/Position: Rallygun Shooter
Gametype: Conc tag (you just wait)
Affiliations: Mustache Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 352 Times
Send a message via AIM to squeek.
I don't really know. The thing is, the Source SDK tool itself is being phased out afaik. Source SDK Base 2006 mods are like one of the last things still using it to launch Hammer.

Alex told me in game he's getting the "No game configs exist" error when trying to launch the Source SDK. Not really sure how to fix that; the fix I was aware of was to launch a game on that engine (HL2DM used to work for me I believe), but since no games are still on the 2006 engine... I don't know.
__________________
#FF.Pickup Fortress-Forever pickups

My Non-official Maps
Released FF_DM_Squeek - FF_2Mesa3_Classic - FF_Siege_Classic
Beta FF_Myth - FF_Redlight_Greenlight

Sick of the people on the internet, always moanin'. They just moan.
- Karl Pilkington

Last edited by squeek.; 01-04-2014 at 12:28 AM.
squeek. is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-04-2014, 02:08 AM   #60
aleXtric
#FF.Pickup Dictator
Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Detroit
Gametype: ADL
Affiliations: KiNGz .
Posts Rated Helpful 100 Times
i'll figure it out, and when i do i'll post each step i followed. my steam is a fresh install by the way. like 3 weeks old. sourcesdk folder has moved to the common folder along with everything else pretty much.
__________________
!add
#FF.Pickup - Quakenet

http://www.ffpickup.com/?p=irc
aleXtric is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.