Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2007, 03:09 AM   #1
Johnny Mullet
Fear the Mullet!
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Johnny Mullet
Common TF2 error fixes.

I have done some research on the problems most people are having with Team Fortress 2 and would like to post it here for those unlucky players unable to find support. I posted this on TeamFortressXtreme.com to hopefully help some of those people out...........................

Quote:
If you are having crashes or random errors with Team Fortress 2 then please read on for some basic info.

First off make sure your PC is able to run TF2 from the System Requirements below...............

Minimum System Requirements

Quote:
1.7 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX® 8 level Graphics Card, Windows® Vista/XP/2000, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection
Recommended System Requirements

Quote:
Pentium 4 processor (3.0GHz, or better), 1GB RAM, DirectX® 9 level Graphics Card, Windows® Vista/XP/2000, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection
An old GFX card like a Geforce4 or MX4000 will not run TF2 and some computers with "onboard graphics" may also have issues. Make sure you have completed these steps before installing TF2.............

Anti-virus and Spyware/Malware scans
Disk Cleanup and Disk Defragmented
Updated Drivers and DirectX
Firewall and/or router settings prepared

If Team Fortress 2 is crashing during start-up, you may have to make a few adjustments to fix this.

# Right-click on Team Fortress 2 in the Steam games menu.
# Click on Properties.
# Click on Set launch options.
# Type the following into the launch options field:

Quote:
-fullscreen -width 1024 -height 768 -refresh 60
You may adjust 1024 and 768 to whatever resolution you are comfortable with like -width 800 -height 600 and the refresh rate may be changed to -refresh 70 or whatever is working for you.

Make sure no other programs are running while playing TF2. Programs like messengers, Steam, Anti-virus, and others will hinder game performance.

If Team Fortress 2 gets stuck at the "Loading" screen and fails to work for you, try this..................

Go into Games/Launch Options/ and paste this.............
Quote:
-map_background none -novid +map none -console
This should help with common TF2 issues. Please feel free to add any help or post your problems by starting a new thread.

Last edited by Johnny Mullet; 09-19-2007 at 03:38 AM.
Johnny Mullet is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-19-2007, 03:14 AM   #2
uBeR
Not ****** Yet
D&A Member
 
uBeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
You might want to update your information, because it's pretty dated.

Official minimum and recommended system specs are:

Minimum: 1.7 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX® 8 level Graphics Card, Windows® Vista/XP/2000, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection

Recommended: Pentium 4 processor (3.0GHz, or better), 1GB RAM, DirectX® 9 level Graphics Card, Windows® Vista/XP/2000, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection

Source: http://www.steampowered.com/v/index....ppId=440&cc=US
__________________
OCCUPATION 101.

One would think a simple task would be, well, simple. Maybe not for simpletons.
uBeR is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-19-2007, 03:35 AM   #3
Johnny Mullet
Fear the Mullet!
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to Johnny Mullet
Really? My source was old I guess. Thanks and edited
Johnny Mullet is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-19-2007, 04:55 AM   #4
Jiggles
Retired FF Staff
 
Jiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CowTown
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yeah, uh, how does one change his/her name? I'm stuck on "[undefined]". I don't see an option in the menus, and "name x" doesn't seem to work in or out of a game...
Jiggles is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-19-2007, 10:21 AM   #5
groovyf
In the clouds
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Halifax, UK
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I believe TF2 takes your name from your Steam Communities profile.
groovyf is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-19-2007, 03:44 PM   #6
Jiggles
Retired FF Staff
 
Jiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CowTown
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Which I have setup...so...maybe if you're not logged into the Friends system it doesn't work?
Jiggles is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-19-2007, 04:24 PM   #7
Teh Hwoling Manz
Banned
 
Teh Hwoling Manz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stan Mikita's Donuts
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to Teh Hwoling Manz
Quote:
1.7 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX® 8 level Graphics Card, Windows® Vista/XP/2000, Mouse, Keyboard, Internet Connection
Ah this is why I can not run. No keyboard.

Thx lots.
Teh Hwoling Manz is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.