Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 08:40 PM   #1
Lynus
I like Ceyx
Beta Tester
 
Lynus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MI
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Send a message via AIM to Lynus
Ceyx here, just wondering...

http://joehaglund.googlepages.com/myfirstmap.JPG

how can i add railing on my green bridge?
__________________
hef
Lynus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2008, 08:48 PM   #2
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
that picture confuses me. what kind of railing and where?

do you mean a model(prop)?
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2008, 08:51 PM   #3
Gator-
FF God
 
Gator-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TX
Class/Position: Scout O, Medic O, Demo D/O, Soldier D
Gametype: CTF 4v4
Affiliations: [milkwood] ( GoodFellas )
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via AIM to Gator- Send a message via MSN to Gator- Send a message via Yahoo to Gator-
He said the green bridge.

You can do it with props or with brushes - it shouldn't be too hard.

I first recommend you to redo that bridge and make it bigger and better looking.

If you're going to do it with brushes search for "rail" in the texture options. You would make that rail out of brushes just like you create walls.

If you want to do it out of props create a prop_static, go to its properties, go to world model, browse, and search for rail. Pick one and place it - you may copy paste it several times until you have the railing completed on the bridge. Make sure you properly align it.
Gator- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2008, 08:59 PM   #4
Lynus
I like Ceyx
Beta Tester
 
Lynus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MI
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Send a message via AIM to Lynus
so if i just make squares itll be easier than copy/pasting editing the whole bridge
x2?
__________________
hef
Lynus is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2008, 09:15 PM   #5
GambiT
Fortress Forever Staff
 
GambiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Class/Position: Spy
Affiliations: -=DoM=-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
he doesnt mean copy and paste in the sense that your thinking.

to "copy and paste" something in hammer do this:

1. select object
2. hold "shift" key and drag object
3. release shift

that copies and pastes it for you. do that a few times, then select all of the ones youve just made and repeat the step above. when your finish with one side select all of them then repeat the above steps and drag to the opposite side and your done.
__________________
-------------------------------FF_Rock2(WIP)------------------------------
---------------------------FF_RedGiant(Released)-------------------------
--------------------------FF_Fragzone_G(Released)------------------------
--------------------------FF_Civibash_G(Released)------------------------
-------------------FF_Conc_G1(WIP)--------------------
-------------------FF_Hollow_G(WIP)---------------------
GambiT is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 07-09-2008, 10:35 PM   #6
Lynus
I like Ceyx
Beta Tester
 
Lynus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MI
Posts Rated Helpful 11 Times
Send a message via AIM to Lynus
ty i just thought there mighta been a wayt o raise up the edges, then complete the block by drawing a line... sorta like clipping
__________________
hef
Lynus is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.