Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2009, 06:10 PM   #1
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Custom player model only has 1 color

Im trying to convert the toon models from tfc to FF, but it will only show up in blue ingame, and none of the other colors.

Just wondering how to fix that.!
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-07-2009, 11:09 PM   #2
pF
no war but class war
Fortress Forever Staff
 
pF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: big bad berlin
Class/Position: Soldier / Scout
Gametype: ctf
Affiliations: [w~k!]
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
What, completely blue?
__________________
Support FF:

Gay And Lesbian Fiction | Teen Books | Bath Products
pF is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 12:32 AM   #3
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w...a_Single_Model

Gonna move this to the modding forum.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 02:40 AM   #4
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times


heres the code in the QC file
Code:
$body "torso" "scout_reference_torsoShape.smd"

$texturegroup skinfamilies
{
	{"scout_blue.vmt",
 "goggles.vmt",
 "Chrome2.vmt"
}
 	{"scout_red.vmt",
 "goggles.vmt",
 "Chrome2.vmt"
}
 	{"scout_yellow.vmt",
 "goggles.vmt",
 "Chrome2.vmt"
}
 	{"scout_green.vmt",
 "goggles.vmt",
 "Chrome2.vmt"
}
 }
not sure how to fix this

i looked at the link you send me, but what i have seems right!
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 05:12 AM   #5
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
You have to do a vtf/vmf for each team color
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 05:19 AM   #6
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
i did
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 05:47 AM   #7
tim_
mimic- 3k. leisure^BtU
 
tim_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: FL
Class/Position: Fucker/On Your Mom
Gametype: ADL
Affiliations: #mimic #pick
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
i have one word for you....WOW

that looks fucking awsome
__________________
leisure|Mi6.t5.f$^Ni^vi`qe`m3`DD-AA-BSU-BW-de-dp-K-Kf-BUS-XD-VD-OD-Rf-ue-EE-AD-A-3i->V<-Sv<<O>>^vi-eC-u|c-^fC.d5-zG-iC'
#mimic #pick
tim_ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 07:51 AM   #8
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
FUCK YEAH TOON MODELS

I mean, good show sir.
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 11:12 AM   #9
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
You need seperate .vmt's AND .vtf's. Also, are those even rigged or just compiled in the pose?
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-08-2009, 06:10 PM   #10
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Im completly new to source modeling, so I just kinda decompiled the scout, changed the reference smd, changed the skins in the qc file, and then recompiled it. Guess thats not how you're supposed to do it ;p

http://hldevs.com/sniperpix/scout_materials.zip
http://hldevs.com/sniperpix/scout_model.zip

those are the files i have for the scout
if you could fix em up or point out what i did wrong, that would be great!
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-09-2009, 03:49 AM   #11
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I've tried doing that with the default skeletons and it's way more trouble than it's worth with all of the missing ACT_ calls and such. You will have to rig the models onto the decompiled FF skeleton if you want them to work, it's what I had to do with my TFC converted ones.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-10-2009, 12:34 AM   #12
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
im not sure what rigging means D:

if you could point me to a tutorial, that would be sock rockin
edit:
heres a more detailed account on what i did:
took the FF scout, deleted all the verticies, opened the toon model over it, assigned all the verticies to the correct position, and then proceeded to compiling it.

does rigging == assigning?

Last edited by CocaCola; 02-10-2009 at 01:13 AM. Reason: typo
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-10-2009, 08:49 AM   #13
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yes, rigging is creating/assigning a skeleton to the correct vertices.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-10-2009, 10:57 PM   #14
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
well i did that!
so what could be wrong!
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-11-2009, 01:50 AM   #15
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Like I said, you need separate .vmt's and .vtf's for each color. You will also need to custom make each team color yourself.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-11-2009, 02:00 AM   #16
Crazycarl
D&A Member
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Crazycarl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 31 Times
He has those already.
__________________
Support FF:
Crazycarl is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-11-2009, 02:58 AM   #17
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Then the .vmt's are not pointing to the correct base texture or he did not create his own team-colored textures.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-11-2009, 03:04 AM   #18
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
take a look at the file i posted!

they show that all of what you said is already there
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-11-2009, 03:56 AM   #19
Jester
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Jester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: O: Scout
Affiliations: {NFO} - New Family Order
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
PM me the entire .qc please.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 02-11-2009, 10:50 PM   #20
CocaCola
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gametype: Capture the Flag
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I'll yet them to you I. Thursday because I'm at my dads house until then, And all my files are at moms!
CocaCola is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.