Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping > Maps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 06:58 PM   #1
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
The FF Community Map

People want it, it's time to deliver. The first community map attempt failed, and to me, the reason was because it was too open for most people. The reason why Axl Apartments succeeded was because it was very straightforward and easy for people to work with the room templates they were given. In order for a CM to succeed, we may as well emulate that formula.

Right now apartments will be the easiest to make happen, because a design template can easily be used and plenty of copy-pasta can occur. Anyone good who wishes to help (especially with Lua), please PM me.

Update 1/17/09:
The template can be downloaded from RapidShare here.

Room Rules:

1. Do not exceed the template size. You are free to use less than the space provided though.

2. Do not modify the room entrance. It's designed the way it is for a reason.

3. Custom models and small sound files can be used but you must provide them with your room. Simply zip it all up. Don't go overboard on textures. Too much of a variety, and they will be modified or your room rejected. Custom textures are ok, but if too many textures are reached, your room may be sent back for you to replace the textures.

Last edited by zSilver_Fox; 01-18-2009 at 04:34 PM. Reason: It's 2009, isn't it?
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-17-2009, 08:01 PM   #2
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
If I were you, I'd select an existing map with a theme that would work, decompile it and load it up in hammer. Then goto textures, check the "See already used textures only" Then I would create a number of small brushes and paint every texture used in the map on the faces. Then delete the entire map but the small brushes you created. And that would be the restriction of textures to use. People working on it would have to use textures that are already there only.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-17-2009, 09:46 PM   #3
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Wouldn't saying "NO TEXTURES OTHER THAN WHAT COMES WITH FF BY DEFAULT" work too? Anyone who breaks that rule will have their room removed.
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 12:21 AM   #4
PartialSchism
Keep On Keepin' On
 
PartialSchism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississippi
Class/Position: Offense
Gametype: Fun
Affiliations: I'm bad at FF, and my customs suck
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to PartialSchism
Ok so I'm liking this idea.

Question.
Would we be able to include custom models in a room?

Last edited by PartialSchism; 01-18-2009 at 12:27 AM.
PartialSchism is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 02:45 AM   #5
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Sure, provided you include them with your finished room. Thinking about it, custom textures will be ok too provided you send me the materials... I think. Or something along those lines. I'll throw up a set of rules with the template.
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 03:38 AM   #6
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox View Post
Wouldn't saying "NO TEXTURES OTHER THAN WHAT COMES WITH FF BY DEFAULT" work too? Anyone who breaks that rule will have their room removed.
Nah, that won't work. The problem is that you can only have a certain amount of textures in memory before the map starts crashing on some pcs.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 04:30 AM   #7
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Bump with template up. The doorway area was built like that in the hopes of making the room leaves isolated from the hallway leaf. Let me know how I did.

EDIT: Thanks sh4x. I shall modify as such, and look into doing as you said.
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 04:37 AM   #8
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
What about changes to height? Can I make my room deeper or taller?

Also, about those texture restrictions. By not going overboard on the textures you mean that we shouldn't use more than, say, 10? Or is even that too many?
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 04:43 AM   #9
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
12 or 13 I think would be a reasonable limit, but try to keep it below. I would do what Sh4x suggested, but I don't have a decompiler handy.

You can lower the height if you wish, but I'd rather it not be raised more than 8 or 16 units.
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 04:45 AM   #10
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Alright! Awesomeness.
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 05:14 AM   #11
Bridget
Banned
 
Bridget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
No custom textures depresses me. Defeats the whole purpose of your section of map being unqiue. /:
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 05:18 AM   #12
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
See edit. Also, any suggestions for map perks and such are welcome.
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 05:28 AM   #13
Bridget
Banned
 
Bridget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: AVD
Affiliations: TALOS
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
If having a ton of textures bogs down pcs, then you could always make more than one map.
Bridget is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 05:59 AM   #14
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yeah, but that would mean more time and make it messier. We shall see how things go. I'll probably wind up changing similar textures all to one. After that, then alternate textures may have to go. Just avoid the high res porn and we'll be fine.
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 02:22 PM   #15
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by zSilver_Fox View Post
12 or 13 I think would be a reasonable limit, but try to keep it below. I would do what Sh4x suggested, but I don't have a decompiler handy.
12 is way too few. ff_hunted has something like 150 different textures totaling 102MB of texture memory. ff_shutdown2 is using 120 textures for a total of 82MB. ff_dropdown is using 110 textures for a total of 72MB.

If you wanna do the trick I mentioned earlier without having to decompile anything, you can go to to folder FortressForever/Source/Maps and open one of the vmf there.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 04:17 PM   #16
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Thanks for that info, working on that now! However, I'd like a series of textures that really fit an apartment setting. Most FF maps are more industrial and concrete .

Is it possible to better optimize textures after most of the brushwork is done?
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!

Last edited by zSilver_Fox; 01-18-2009 at 04:32 PM.
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 10:28 PM   #17
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Everything is possible, it's just a matter of time.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2009, 10:53 PM   #18
zSilver_Fox
IRL Combat Medic
 
zSilver_Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ethanol Land
Class/Position: D Medic
Gametype: Conca Jumping
Affiliations: ^iv
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Yay, thread's been moved! It seems that requests make it through.

Anyway, work has started on the skeleton. I plan on imitating the original Axl Apartments theme with a closed off street in a city. Secrets will be included.
__________________
I have a nasopharyngeal and webcam...

First infraction! Flaming!
zSilver_Fox is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-20-2009, 05:34 AM   #19
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
What are we going to do in these apartments?

I'd like to have five respawn turrets in mine in case someone tries to break in and raid my refridgerator.
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-20-2009, 06:06 AM   #20
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
You should add a door to yours Ihmhi
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.