Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Help & Technical > FF Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2007, 05:38 PM   #1
MEANGUNS
Guest
 
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
STEAM FOR CAFES Problem install FF

Hey guys,

I have over 40 pcs i'd like to add FF to but when I try run FF from either the short cut or from the "my game list" it goes through the cycle to launch game but stops at login password screen, asking for a password.
The problem is I don't use a password because I'm running "Steam for cafes"

Is there any way I can get this game to run through Steam for cafes?

I need some help here.

Thank You
  Reply With Quote


Old 09-22-2007, 05:52 PM   #2
paranoidkirb
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: O/D Pyro
Gametype: Invade and Defend
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to paranoidkirb Send a message via MSN to paranoidkirb Send a message via Yahoo to paranoidkirb Send a message via Skype™ to paranoidkirb
I can't help you, but I commend you for spreading FF to your cafe.
paranoidkirb is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-22-2007, 06:04 PM   #3
MEANGUNS
Guest
 
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Are you a tech admin here?
  Reply With Quote


Old 09-22-2007, 06:06 PM   #4
Defrag
Retired FF Staff
 
Defrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I would imagine this is a valve/source sdk base issue rather than a mod issue. I'd recommend contacting Steam's support team.
__________________
Fortress Forever.
Level Designer, Gameplay Dude and whatnot.
Defrag is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-23-2007, 07:06 AM   #5
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Thats a bummer, hope you can get it fixed!
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-23-2007, 04:31 PM   #6
4est
Fortress Forever Staff
 
4est's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: OK
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to 4est
Please keep us posted as to a fix.
__________________
Welcome to ZOMBOCOM!
Support FF:
4est is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-24-2007, 04:03 AM   #7
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
I've messed with steam cafe a bit...
If there was a way for your server to know the mod is installed it would help...

Also: Can you get nick names running on TF2 under steam cafe? The first day of the beta I couldn't change my name usingsteam cafe
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-24-2007, 04:53 AM   #8
trepid_jon
Ray Ray Johnson
Fortress Forever Staff
 
trepid_jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Class/Position: D Civilian
Gametype: Rocket Jousting
Affiliations: EAFD
Posts Rated Helpful 78 Times
Send a message via ICQ to trepid_jon Send a message via AIM to trepid_jon
My guess is like Defrag's...make sure your cafe accounts have access to Source SDK Base, because that's what is used to run FF.
__________________
Support FF:
Trepid
steamcommunity.com/id/trepid_jon/
trepid_jon is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-24-2007, 10:45 AM   #9
vartaxe
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooga
Also: Can you get nick names running on TF2 under steam cafe? The first day of the beta I couldn't change my name usingsteam cafe
valve is fixing it... just check steam cafe private forums...
vartaxe is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 09-24-2007, 07:10 PM   #10
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by vartaxe
valve is fixing it... just check steam cafe private forums...
I don't currently have control over a steam cafe server but I help my college manager theirs a bit...
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-03-2007, 03:31 AM   #11
MEANGUNS
Guest
 
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
i still can't play FF at the cafe and its installed on 30 machines. Steam isn't helping much.

Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote


Old 10-03-2007, 11:59 AM   #12
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Nope, sorry. I don't know the difference between Steam and the cafe version.

Could this help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenday5494
ok, i got HL2 not too long ago, but i always just had HL2: DM. what you need to do is this:
1. install the source SDK Base.
2. find the gameinfo.txt in the FF directory
3. edit the number there from 220 to 215. it should say something about steamapplaunch in the gameinfo.txt and then \\ this is what we need to mount the GCFs. once you find that, like i said, edit the number from 220 to 215. your all done
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 10-03-2007, 03:50 PM   #13
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
In the private forums... is there a walk through on installing game mods?
That might help you. I think it might have something to do with installing it onto your steam server...

EDIT: try this
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter

Last edited by Mooga; 10-03-2007 at 03:56 PM.
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.