Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2008, 06:56 PM   #21
Zatoichi
 
Zatoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
man ive never had a problem with vista that couldnt be fixed with a quick google search and about 5 minutes time. i have service pack1, the final version not the beta(unless they change something between 2 weeks ago and the release date) , and i noticed a bit a of a speed bump. to make things run a bit faster i moved my page file(not that i need one with 4gb of ram) from the boot array, to my storage drive and set the kernal to run in the memory, and i think that improved things ALOT.
Zatoichi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-12-2008, 10:05 PM   #22
greenday5494
Holy shit, thats kerrigan!
D&A Member
 
greenday5494's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: D, whatever the team needs, usually engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
get a much better CPU. 4200 is weak. it will be holding you back
greenday5494 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-13-2008, 06:05 AM   #23
Etzell
D&A Member
 
Etzell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
If you want to play games that require DX10, get Vista. Otherwise, stick with XP. But, really, do you need that powerful of a card JUST for FF? Sounds like overkill, my 7800GT ran it just fine.

Then, of course, I upped it to an 8800 GT 512. To play DX10 games.
Etzell is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-13-2008, 08:01 AM   #24
Ihmhi
[AE] 0112 Ihmhi *SJB
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Ihmhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, NJ, United States
Class/Position: A little bit o' everythin'
Gametype: Also a little bit o' everythin'
Affiliations: [AE] Asseater, *SJB Straight Jacket Brigade
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
Send a message via AIM to Ihmhi Send a message via MSN to Ihmhi Send a message via Yahoo to Ihmhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anshinritsumai
Before my power supply died back in October (haven't played since because of it), I was running Dual 8800GTX 768mb cards in SLI, with a Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4ghz & 8gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 on Vista Ultimate 64bit.

I'll just say that with the highest settings (1680x1050 res w/ highest AA/AF, and model/textures at highest) possible in game, I never went below 80fps at any point in time.
Okay, be honest now - you're Bl4h under a different name, aren't you?
__________________
Support FF:
Anime: The Thread: Reloaded
The one and only anime thread on these here forums.

Select the pistol, and then, select your horse.
Ihmhi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-13-2008, 11:12 AM   #25
caesium
Fortress Forever Staff
 
caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: europe
Class/Position: anything
Gametype: everything
Affiliations: #teamfail
Posts Rated Helpful 27 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etzell
... But, really, do you need that powerful of a card JUST for FF? Sounds like overkill, my 7800GT ran it just fine.
yeah well i can't stand playing my TFC/FF at anything other than perfect fps all the time (i.e. fps never dips below what i cap it to, where the cap is an integer multiple of my refresh rate to minimise temporal aliasing/sampling effects [this looks like horizontal tearing on the screen when you strafe]). my current system will do about 200fps+ most of the time if i uncap it, but it dips down to about 40fps or even less sometimes (e.g. lots of ppl on dustbowl spamming) which gives me a headache, removes most the skill, and basically just makes me not want to play the game at all

greenday: yep, i understand that if i get the 8800 GTX 768MB that my cpu will be the limiting factor, but it's a good version of the 4200+x2 (has 2mb cache i think), and i'm prepared to give it a go and then i can always upgrade the cpu later if it fails to meet my requirements.

Last edited by caesium; 03-13-2008 at 11:29 AM.
caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-13-2008, 06:46 PM   #26
greenday5494
Holy shit, thats kerrigan!
D&A Member
 
greenday5494's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: D, whatever the team needs, usually engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
a 4200X2 with 2mb of cache? 0_o never heard of that. my 5600+X2 has 512KB of cache in each core, so i got 1MB of cache. is that good?
greenday5494 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-18-2008, 03:49 PM   #27
caesium
Fortress Forever Staff
 
caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: europe
Class/Position: anything
Gametype: everything
Affiliations: #teamfail
Posts Rated Helpful 27 Times
looks like the 9800 gx2 1024MB arrived just in time! think i'll get one of them instead, cos surely that's gotta be able to play FF flawlessly
caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-18-2008, 03:54 PM   #28
Credge
FF Loremaster
Beta Tester
 
Credge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Getting, on average, 450 FPS in FF, I notice no tearing which is very odd as when I play HL2 (original, the episodes don't do it either) I get insane tearing.

However my FPS entirely depends on the map. Sometimes I'll hang around 120 (on dropdown) and sometimes I'll be b-b-ballin' around 450 (on monkey in the FR).
__________________
"The nine most terrifying words in the English language are: 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'"

Ronald Reagan
Credge is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-18-2008, 08:46 PM   #29
Mudfrog
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia
Class/Position: D - Sniper, Demo, Soldier
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Credge
Getting, on average, 450 FPS in FF, I notice no tearing which is very odd as when I play HL2 (original, the episodes don't do it either) I get insane tearing.

However my FPS entirely depends on the map. Sometimes I'll hang around 120 (on dropdown) and sometimes I'll be b-b-ballin' around 450 (on monkey in the FR).
Not exactly averaging 450 then
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 01:48 AM   #30
greenday5494
Holy shit, thats kerrigan!
D&A Member
 
greenday5494's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: D, whatever the team needs, usually engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
jesus. a 9800GX2 fucking 1GB video card to play SOURCE! why dont you play something demanding like crysis. and stroke your e-peen there
;0
greenday5494 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 04:49 AM   #31
Anshinritsumai
_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihmhi
Okay, be honest now - you're Bl4h under a different name, aren't you? :lol:
I don't post enough to be Bl4h =/

That and I didn't get my 8800s till July of '07, unlike Bl4h...
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 10:35 AM   #32
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenday5494
jesus. a 9800GX2 fucking 1GB video card to play SOURCE! why dont you play something demanding like crysis. and stroke your e-peen there
;0
The 8800GT 1Gig is better IMHO.

I'm gettin' that.
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 02:15 PM   #33
caesium
Fortress Forever Staff
 
caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: europe
Class/Position: anything
Gametype: everything
Affiliations: #teamfail
Posts Rated Helpful 27 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenday5494
jesus. a 9800GX2 fucking 1GB video card to play SOURCE! why dont you play something demanding like crysis. and stroke your e-peen there ;0
cos i only have a pc in order to play FF lol. if i wanna play noob games (anything other than FF) then i sit on the sofa with a noobstick (ps3).
caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 02:31 PM   #34
Mudfrog
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia
Class/Position: D - Sniper, Demo, Soldier
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
The 8800GT 1Gig is better IMHO.

I'm gettin' that.
Yes it's currently more then likely better but thats due to the lack of good drivers for the 9800x2, in time it should smoke our 8800GT's..
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 04:49 PM   #35
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Annoying people since 1986
 
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belgium a.k.a. absurdistan
Class/Position: O fatty, pyro - D engy, pyro
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: This space for rent.
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via MSN to פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudfrog
Yes it's currently more then likely better but thats due to the lack of good drivers for the 9800x2, in time it should smoke our 8800GT's..
Still gettin' a 8800 tough
פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 05:38 PM   #36
Mudfrog
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia
Class/Position: D - Sniper, Demo, Soldier
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by פֿяαιп βαмαgεפ
Still gettin' a 8800 tough
Believe me I support the 8800GT completely.. just got mine 2 weeks ago and it's wicked
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 11:15 PM   #37
Etzell
D&A Member
 
Etzell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by caesium
cos i only have a pc in order to play FF lol. if i wanna play noob games (anything other than FF) then i sit on the sofa with a noobstick (ps3).
Ok, forum-goers.
Math time.

+

=?
Etzell is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-19-2008, 11:23 PM   #38
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
ceiling fanaction figure?
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-20-2008, 12:43 PM   #39
Bubbles
Bueno
 
Bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winland
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Factionfigure?
Bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-20-2008, 10:33 PM   #40
caesium
Fortress Forever Staff
 
caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: europe
Class/Position: anything
Gametype: everything
Affiliations: #teamfail
Posts Rated Helpful 27 Times


i lurved TFC for its mega fast paced objective orientated (not dm) team gameplay and movement...mmm.. and aside from FF there's nothing else really that does that, so i help out with and support FF as best as i can. i play my fair share of noob games too, but always with the noobstick! - mainly cod4/warhawk/tf2/ut3/burnout atm.

Last edited by caesium; 03-20-2008 at 10:38 PM.
caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.