Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2008, 10:06 PM   #1
Darkness
Darkness24713/Another
 
Darkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
How to set up hammer for FF with the UPDATE to source

I posted this in another thread but ill make a new thread about this to clear up confusion.

STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTION TO SETTING HAMMER FOR FF PICTURES INCLUDED!!

First we have to change the launch options

So go to your tool section on steam.


Next Right click Source SKD and click properties


once your instead click on Set Launch Options


In the Box type -engine ep1 (some people might have to add a -nop4 after ep1)



Then click OK then click close, and start up Source SDK



Start up hammer with current game as Half life 2 then once started click the tools tab up top and click options


Next click Edit beside Configuration


Click Add


Type in Fortress Forever and click ok


Next Fortress Forever Should appear and if it does Click the Close button


Now you should be at Configure Hammer again, click the arrow next to Hl2 and click Fortress Forever


ok fill in all the information you see in this picture for your configuration (if you have something different use that then)


Game Data files
$SteamDir\steamapps\SourceMods\FortressForever\for tressforever.fgd

Texture Format
Materials (Half-Life2)

Map Type
Half-Life 2

Defualt PointEntity class
info_script

Default SolidEntity class
func_detail

Default texture scale
0.25

Defualt lightmap scale
16

Cordon texture
tools/toolsskybox

Game Executable Directory
$SteamDir\steamapps\SourceMods\FortressForever

Game Directory
$SteamDir\steamapps\SourceMods\FortressForever

Hammer VMF Directory
$SteamDir\steamapps\SourceMods\FortressForever\map s

Next click the Build Programs Tab and under configuration click Fortress Forever


Next this section should look exactly like this


Game Executable
$SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\hl2.exe

BSP Executable
$SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vbsp.exe

VIS Executable
$SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vvis.exe

RAD Executable
$SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin\vrad.exe

Place compiled maps in this directory before running the game
$SteamDir\steamapps\SourceMods\FortressForever\map s

After that click apply and then ok, and exit hammer and under current game select Fortress Forever


After that start up hammer and you should be ready to go!!

Last edited by Darkness; 01-18-2008 at 10:14 PM.
Darkness is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2008, 10:13 PM   #2
BlisTer
Fortress Forever Staff
 
BlisTer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 4 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkness

Game Executable
$SteamUserDir\sourcesdk\hl2.exe
Does this work for you? For me it didn't, i had to point it to steam.exe and add -appplaunch 215 to the compiler
__________________
Support FF:
untils you cry for the mercy like little shaven squirrel in my eating pot. - deathstriker666
BlisTer is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-18-2008, 10:15 PM   #3
Darkness
Darkness24713/Another
 
Darkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlisTer
Does this work for you? For me it didn't, i had to point it to steam.exe and add -appplaunch 215 to the compiler
No it doesn't just gives me some error. i just turn off run game after compile
Darkness is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-19-2008, 06:27 AM   #4
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
You should add this to the FF Wiki
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-21-2008, 04:34 PM   #5
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
man...if this works I swear I will cry! I will test this when i get home. Also thanks a million and I will try to get this into the wiki if I can.

EDIT: Also Geokill, you should definitely add this to the All Your Mapping Needs Thread.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-21-2008, 11:30 PM   #6
Darkness
Darkness24713/Another
 
Darkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Sticky this MOFO

Also did it work for you Dr. Satan?
Darkness is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-21-2008, 11:39 PM   #7
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
Haven't tested it yet (won't be home til about 6pm MST) also if we can get it into Geokill's list then that should suffice, this thing gets full of stickies too easily.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2008, 01:14 AM   #8
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
DARKNESS I WANT YOU TO HAVE MY BABIES!!

Seriously I think I love you man...you are freeking awesome! Not only do you deserve a sticky, but I promise you I will get this on the wiki as soon as I can!
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2008, 01:46 AM   #9
Darkness
Darkness24713/Another
 
Darkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Your welcome

For once i have done something useful
Darkness is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 01-22-2008, 05:36 AM   #10
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
Yeah this does deserved a sticky
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-08-2008, 09:14 PM   #11
Gator-
FF God
 
Gator-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TX
Class/Position: Scout O, Medic O, Demo D/O, Soldier D
Gametype: CTF 4v4
Affiliations: [milkwood] ( GoodFellas )
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Send a message via AIM to Gator- Send a message via MSN to Gator- Send a message via Yahoo to Gator-
the -engine ep1 method only works if you have HL2 Episode 1. I don't...what now (and I'm concluding that you need it since it simply won't load after multiple restarts). I did add -nop4 as well. Reinstalled steam, not running any betas, etc. GG.

edit

It figures...that account is brand new (bought it for TF2, only game installled [source sdk base as well]). I logged in to one of my old accounts that has HL2 and the command worked. Problem solved. Ty DrSatan!

Last edited by Gator-; 03-08-2008 at 09:59 PM.
Gator- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2008, 11:47 PM   #12
Fusion2508
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Hrm...

Well I am still building maps but I can't figure out why I can't get them to launch. Says- Failed to Load Launcher dll, specific module could not be found-. I did every setting I was supposed to and went over it like 10 times. Any ideas?
Fusion2508 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2008, 03:35 AM   #13
-=Roland=-
 
-=Roland=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hiram, GA
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
BTW - With the newest update you can loose the -engine ep1 switch.

Re: Fusion: I've never gotten that to work. I just click do not run game after compile. Then I load FF and create server and choose my map. Works EVERY time
-=Roland=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2008, 05:50 PM   #14
Hoopajoo
 
Hoopajoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Affiliations: ( GoodFellas . )
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlisTer
Does this work for you? For me it didn't, i had to point it to steam.exe and add -appplaunch 215 to the compiler
Its in /sourcesdk base/
Hoopajoo is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-30-2008, 02:13 AM   #15
greenday5494
Holy shit, thats kerrigan!
D&A Member
 
greenday5494's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Class/Position: D, whatever the team needs, usually engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: None
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
TO ALL:

you no longer need -engine ep1! with the new new update to the SDK, it actually works! WOW I KNOW!! amazing! anyways, it's much easier, and they fixed hammer for the model viewer. w00t
greenday5494 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-31-2008, 04:44 PM   #16
Fusion2508
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Now I can play my maps see what I need to do to them. Now I am motivated to finish em. Thank You Thank You Roland.
Fusion2508 is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-06-2008, 04:13 PM   #17
Hirohito
The last true Emperor
D&A Member
Wiki Team
 
Hirohito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Okay, I've got it set up, but whenever I try to load it in Hammer, Hammer spews out a ton of errors about "undefined base class" and "error including fortressforever.fgd". This makes it so that I can't use ANY entities in a map.

Any help?
Hirohito is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-06-2008, 04:37 PM   #18
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
when your selecting your game...are you on the right mode? Since this post there has been an update to sdk that allows you to pick which one you wish to use.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-06-2008, 07:00 PM   #19
Hirohito
The last true Emperor
D&A Member
Wiki Team
 
Hirohito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Satan
when your selecting your game...are you on the right mode? Since this post there has been an update to sdk that allows you to pick which one you wish to use.
Yeah, I'm in the Ep1 engine.
Hirohito is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-06-2008, 07:18 PM   #20
Dr.Satan
Wiki Team
Fortress Forever Staff
 
Dr.Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Class/Position: Med / Solly
Gametype: PAYLOAD
Affiliations: DET-
Posts Rated Helpful 19 Times
ok...post your options for me...like when you set up the "Fortress Forever" option or whatever you named it...what are all the directories and paths you outlined.

Also check out this thread(click), I made that back when I first started trying to map and PSF helped me out a lot with getting that part all correct.
__________________
(Released) conc_school | hellion_classic | ksour_PAYLOAD | mulch_faf
(Beta) alchimy_b1
(Lua) base_payload_2015
(Models) props_trainyard
Support FF:
Dr.Satan is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.