Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping > Maps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2007, 06:00 PM   #21
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarek
did you get zoauve's permission to do this? just considering he is on the FF dev team, looks okay, but to be honest thecove in tfc was probably one of the prettiest maps there was, good luck trying to keep on par with that

you need a brighter water texture, something tropical blue
nah I didn't. Mainly b/c on the txt of thecove he didn't list his name (or I didnt see it). No problem though, if I don't get permission then its just onto another map.

and about the pirate ship, that can be added at anytime, I wasn't forgetting about it.
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-28-2007, 07:46 PM   #22
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Good luck reaching Zouave.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-28-2007, 08:30 PM   #23
Zouave
Retired FF Staff
 
Zouave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
yeah
__________________
- Zouave
Zouave is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-28-2007, 08:32 PM   #24
nodnarb
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 5 Times
:O he exists!!!
nodnarb is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-28-2007, 11:40 PM   #25
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circuitous
Good luck reaching Zouave.
took me all of a few hours to reach him haha.

anyway, I can't seem to find a "tropical island blue" water texture. Anyone got any links?
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 07:07 AM   #26
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
I think SirTiger has one

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/8...ments00vl7.jpg

Or you could steal one or ask for permission to used the ones from PVKII
http://www.pvkii.com/pvkiimaps.php
They got some great textures that will go great for this map.
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 07:23 AM   #27
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
is this gonna tear a new one for everyone? cuz we all know how much water is in the original cove. If that's the case I can just make more sandbars or something besides water.

edit: o and thanks for the texture.
edit edit: yea so it looks a ton more fitting, but I have a question. What causes the seam in the second picture? and also I'm thinking this will eat up the fps, but we'll see.




Last edited by Beetle; 04-29-2007 at 07:43 AM.
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 08:07 AM   #28
Pixel
if(0>1){printf("broked");}
Beta Tester
 
Pixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Amerika
Class/Position: O
Posts Rated Helpful 3 Times
ohh sexy
Pixel is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 11:57 AM   #29
luminous
 
luminous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
http://www.pvkii.com/images/maps/island02.jpg

ask em if you can use a couple of the things in that. ;o

lookin verry nice, but that big block in the top of the first picture, try n make it look more age worn/battered etc, like rounded edges n shizz
luminous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 12:12 PM   #30
Commander
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
looks really nice so far!

I always had seams with water against walls, and I never figured out how to fix them
Commander is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 12:51 PM   #31
Pigeons
Collected in my steps
 
Pigeons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Could you just pull the water 1 unit into the wall to correct it?
Pigeons is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 02:00 PM   #32
Nezumi
Retired FF Staff
 
Nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals.
Class/Position: Soldier, O
Gametype: Doubble Mode
Affiliations: Cassiotone Nation
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
To get rid of that seam, cut all the geometry touching the water along the surface of the water, and make everything touching the water from the top a func_detail. (might need to do the stuff below the water too, but make sure it's not the same entity as the stuff above)

Kinda messy but if you really really want that seam gone, that's basically the only way to do it.
__________________
TG: pretty much you have no idea how much i fuckin own at this game.
TG: i bested no less than three flaming tornados and broke a huge wizard.
Nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-29-2007, 02:58 PM   #33
`badger`
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N Lincs, UK
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via MSN to `badger`
new water looks fantastic, alter the seaming thing and it should look stunning.
`badger` is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-03-2007, 12:50 AM   #34
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
FIX IT!!!!!

Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-03-2007, 02:39 AM   #35
-=bingo-bango=-
Spirit Studios
 
-=bingo-bango=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: Blue Team
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to -=bingo-bango=- Send a message via MSN to -=bingo-bango=-
looking really good, and the PVKII water texture is one of my favourites
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by Bridget [>]
Who gives a shit? Tired of hearing about this...
-=bingo-bango=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-03-2007, 03:12 AM   #36
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
no i was really telling someone to fix it. I've this problem with the blend textures that have sprites in em. teh grass and weed sprites hover above the actual texture...not to mention theres a billion sprites more than there should be
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-03-2007, 06:04 AM   #37
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=bingo-bango=-
looking really good, and the PVKII water texture is one of my favourites
Its not a PVKII water texture. Its a water texture, Sir Tiger made
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-03-2007, 06:08 AM   #38
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Finding displacement neighbors...
Found a displacement edge abutting multiple other edges.
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-640.00 329.92 217.79)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-640.00 329.92 217.79)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-640.00 374.08 132.25)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-640.00 333.20 139.23)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-576.11 399.68 -32.00)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-589.06 318.33 -32.00)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-584.88 335.22 150.91)
Warning: invalid neighbor connection on displacement near (-584.88 335.22 150.91)



Last edited by Beetle; 05-03-2007 at 06:17 AM.
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-04-2007, 03:26 AM   #39
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
anyone know how to fix this problem?

also sry to double post, but does a world brush with nodraw on it still visblock? It would be totally covered by a displacement - just wondering.
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 05-04-2007, 03:49 AM   #40
Beetle
Beta than eva'
 
Beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
No that's not what i meant. I meant using world brushes is the main way to visblock, and i know displacements aren't world brushes. Im simply asking if you cover a regular world brush with nodraw will it still visblock.
Beetle is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.