Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Off Topic > Other Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 08:50 AM   #1
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
OnLive

http://blogs.ft.com/techblog/2009/03...-out-of-games/

Quote:
The games can be played on any bog-standard laptop or PC without the need for a high-end graphics chip using OnLive’s plug-in software or on a TV connected to a box the size of a pack of cards that may well be given away for free.
Pretty neat huh?
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-24-2009, 02:10 PM   #2
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
*UT Voice*HOLY SHIT*END UT Voice*

That would be incredible. I'd pay for it.
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-24-2009, 10:08 PM   #3
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
We'll see how that really works...
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-24-2009, 10:50 PM   #4
Agent Buckshot Moose
Wiki Standards Team
Wiki Team
 
Agent Buckshot Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Geokill's closet
Class/Position: Sniper/Demoman
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: :e0: Co-leader
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
I'm sure the connection for the demonstration was probably streamlined to be specifically for that demonstration. Real connections will probably differ...
Agent Buckshot Moose is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-24-2009, 11:00 PM   #5
Demasu
Official FF Medic
 
Demasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Buckshot Moose View Post
I'm sure the connection for the demonstration was probably streamlined to be specifically for that demonstration. Real connections will probably differ...
This summary is better, I think:

Quote:
Originally Posted by /.
Imagine playing bleeding-edge games, yet never again upgrading your hardware. That's the ambitious goal of OnLive's Internet delivered gaming service. Using cloud computing, OnLive's goal is to 'make all modern games playable on any system,' thanks in large part to OnLive's remote servers that do all the heavy lifting. With a fast enough Internet connection, gamers can effectively stream and play games using a PC, Mac, or a 'MicroConsole,' 'a dedicated gaming client provided by OnLive that includes a game controller.' Without ever having to worry about costly hardware upgrades or the cost of a next-gen console, gamers can expect to fork over about $50 yearly just for the service. If this thing takes off, this can spell trouble for gaming consoles down the road, especially if already-established services like Steam and Impulse join the fray.
http://games.slashdot.org/article.pl...212&art_pos=12
__________________
Some ER Trauma Doctor: Which way did he point the gun? Was it towards the front of your face or the back of your face?

...and you wonder why I love doctors.
Demasu is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2009, 02:02 PM   #6
xks
Exceedingly Correct.
 
xks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England.
Class/Position: Variable
Gametype: QuakeLive CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
There isn't enough bandwidth in the world for this to become anything like a massive success. Yes, more bandwidth is arriving as the years go by, but the size of the data we are demanding is rising even faster.

Even today there are people who can't play games each evening on their DSL/Cable due to poor throttling, overcrowding and other issues that many ISP's never fix or cause themselves. If people can't even play games that require less than 30KB/sec upstream/downstream how on earth are they going to come close to demanding all of the content for the game and playing it through similar connections?
xks is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2009, 05:10 PM   #7
GeoKill----->
Community Member
Server Owner
Beta Tester
Forum Moderator
 
GeoKill----->'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hawthorne, California
Class/Position: Soldier/Spy/Scout
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: :e0:Eternal Order Leader
Posts Rated Helpful 12 Times
http://www.engadget.com/2009/03/25/v...ted/#continued
__________________

:e0: Will live on Forever
Support FF:
GeoKill-----> is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2009, 06:37 PM   #8
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Pretty interesting. I hope it delivers.

Honestly I don't understand how it can work though.

Let's say you ping 60 to the server. It takes 60ms for your input to get to server, than 60ms for the video to get back. That's 120ms minimum, not counting the other shit. Now let's get real, 60ms is a pretty good ping. What if you ping 100ms.. then it's minimum 200ms of lag. That's kinda considered unplayable today for a game like FF unless you like to get raped.

Am I missing something?
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2009, 07:08 PM   #9
Anshinritsumai
°_o
 
Anshinritsumai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Class/Position: Medic & Engy
Gametype: AvD
Affiliations: DM, OC, -[CfH]-
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
It's a nice concept, better than what the Phantom had going for it; but still, I just can't see it lasting any longer than the Phantom did...

Oh yea, there's beta signups on the onlive website...
__________________
Anshinritsumai is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2009, 09:07 PM   #10
OneManArmy
Ka-boom!
 
OneManArmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ukraine
Class/Position: Demo, Solly, Pyro
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
They'll got to have a monster-like back-end for that....
OneManArmy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-25-2009, 10:03 PM   #11
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Beta is only for americans, fuck that.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2009, 05:55 AM   #12
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
We'll see.
I'm still worried about noticeable lag and bandwidth issues.

I also want to know what they call a "low end computer." Is a 1.2GHz P3 low end or is a 2.0Ghz Core 2 Duo with 4 GB of ram low end?

Also, their pricing scares me. Rent for 15 min? I hope they think like valve and realize that CHEAPER is better then more expensive. If it's 10 bucks to rent a game for an hour or 60 bucks to buy the game, they've done little more but give people a free xBox. Sure, a free xBox is great, but where we are currently, price is the key.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2009, 04:22 PM   #13
xks
Exceedingly Correct.
 
xks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England.
Class/Position: Variable
Gametype: QuakeLive CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/gd...y-work-article
xks is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2009, 10:27 PM   #14
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Heh, it does sound too good to be true.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-26-2009, 10:52 PM   #15
-=bingo-bango=-
Spirit Studios
 
-=bingo-bango=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Class/Position: Soldier
Gametype: CTF
Affiliations: Blue Team
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Send a message via AIM to -=bingo-bango=- Send a message via MSN to -=bingo-bango=-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sh4x View Post
Beta is only for americans, fuck that.
yea, fuck those Americans ...wait wut.......

anyways. Heres the demo from GDC
linkzors

Im guessing theyve done some fancy shit over the past couple of years (theyve been working on it for 7 years *cough cough*) to where they probably think it will work

...im totally saving that, it will be fun to look back on and see how wrong or how right it is

Last edited by -=bingo-bango=-; 03-26-2009 at 11:02 PM.
-=bingo-bango=- is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-27-2009, 10:17 AM   #16
OneManArmy
Ka-boom!
 
OneManArmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ukraine
Class/Position: Demo, Solly, Pyro
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sh4x View Post
Pretty interesting. I hope it delivers.

Honestly I don't understand how it can work though.

Let's say you ping 60 to the server. It takes 60ms for your input to get to server, than 60ms for the video to get back. That's 120ms minimum, not counting the other shit. Now let's get real, 60ms is a pretty good ping. What if you ping 100ms.. then it's minimum 200ms of lag. That's kinda considered unplayable today for a game like FF unless you like to get raped.

Am I missing something?
Ping is the time you send packet and get response from server. You'll get exactly the same network lag as you could get by playing FF
OneManArmy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-27-2009, 01:58 PM   #17
Mooga
Colorless FTW
D&A Member
Beta Tester
 
Mooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: A Small Box
Affiliations: SRCDS.com
Posts Rated Helpful 1 Times
Lag on a server and lag between CONTROLS is very different.
You can live with lag on a server.
Log on the controls makes a game 100% UNPLAYABLE.

Pressing forward should move you forward instantly, not 2 seconds later.
As a network guy, I don't see this actually working as expected.
__________________
~ Mooga ...w00t?
SRCDS.com | Twitter
Mooga is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-27-2009, 04:20 PM   #18
Sh4x
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneManArmy View Post
Ping is the time you send packet and get response from server. You'll get exactly the same network lag as you could get by playing FF
Right. I didn't think hard enough before posting lol.

But like Mooga pointed out, network lag might be the same but lag on controls is a different beast. So let's say you ping 60 to the server, that means you'll get a 30ms delay on controls right? That would probably be very noticeable in any fast paced game and make it almost unplayable.
Sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-27-2009, 04:30 PM   #19
OneManArmy
Ka-boom!
 
OneManArmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ukraine
Class/Position: Demo, Solly, Pyro
Gametype: CTF
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Isn't controls lag depending on network connection?
OneManArmy is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 03-27-2009, 04:53 PM   #20
Etzell
D&A Member
 
Etzell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Good luck... but there's so much room for catastrophic failure and so little room for success... I'll be surprised if it's anything more than a fun curiosity that fades rather quickly.
Etzell is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.