Fortress Forever

Go Back   Fortress Forever > Editing > Mapping > Maps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2006, 01:41 PM   #101
o_ambex
 
o_ambex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
What to use bspzip for every beta you make?
o_ambex is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-07-2006, 05:00 PM   #102
Circuitous
Useless
Retired FF Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Class/Position: D Soldier, O Scout
Gametype: AvD
Posts Rated Helpful 9 Times
Send a message via AIM to Circuitous Send a message via MSN to Circuitous Send a message via Yahoo to Circuitous Send a message via Skype™ to Circuitous
Unless you want missing textures, yeah.
__________________
Look at all those dead links.
Circuitous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-07-2006, 05:10 PM   #103
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Damned good looking map Caesium. I'm no mapper but I really like the feel of it; the screen shots really don't do it justice. I don't run on a top of the line rig, but I only dropped to about 30fps when looking across the yard. Can't wait to roast someone in the glass pillars. Put the new version out ASAP!
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-07-2006, 06:05 PM   #104
o_darknight
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Agreed. Had my first look around yesterday (just had to re-download HL2, ouch!) and I was really impressed. Hopefully in FF it'll play as good as it looks.
o_darknight is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-07-2006, 10:20 PM   #105
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Someone should run a HL2DM server with these maps 24/7 for all us FF freaks!
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-08-2006, 06:21 AM   #106
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Wasn't someone on these boards talking about that? Like racer or someone.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-08-2006, 03:47 PM   #107
o_sh4x
 
o_sh4x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
yeah make a server with every maps even unfinished ones...
o_sh4x is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2006, 02:00 AM   #108
Lost
Fear teh crowbar.
Retired FF Staff
 
Lost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Gametype: CTF ftw, yeh
Posts Rated Helpful 6 Times
Send a message via Yahoo to Lost
Yah, I'd play the hell out of it. Put it on a team DM server, would be fun.
__________________
Do what you want cuz a pirate is free!

You are a pirate!
Lost is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2006, 02:18 AM   #109
o_tennovan
 
o_tennovan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
I like the idea of having a HL2DM server (pword protected) with all community maps. Besides, it'll give all of us something to do while we wait for FF. Who's got access to a server?
o_tennovan is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2006, 02:21 AM   #110
o_luminous
 
o_luminous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
the FF team should as burstfire nicely!
o_luminous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2006, 11:55 AM   #111
o_caesium
 
o_caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by luminous
the FF team should as burstfire nicely!
Nah, sadly it's not the job of the FF dev team to arrange HL2DM hosting for unfinished unofficial 3rd party maps Seems to me that we'd need to sort this out amongst ourselves. So, does anyone has the ability to host an HL2DM server, or know someone else who does? It doesn't need to be a good server, anything is better than nothing.

Obviously we'd want sv_airaccelerate up, and cheats enabled so ppl can noclip to pretend to conc etc This would be really useful tbh for finding bugs and getting an idea for how areas will feel and play in FF. Would probably be useful to have a votemap system running as well as a map rotation, so ppl can load up the map they want.
o_caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-10-2006, 04:37 PM   #112
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
They could appoint someone to be the offical arranger of HL2DM hosting for custom maps. I mean, they might as well. It's not like they have to pay them.

Seriously though I might be able to set up something like this. I'm pretty sure superjer isn't running any sort of game server at all right now so I can probably subvert his server to our purposes. The thing is I'm really really lazy so if it ever goes down or something it'll be weeks before I get off my ass and fix it. Or get it set up. I don't even know if I can. Maybe I shouldn't have said anything...

Well, in any case...
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-11-2006, 07:33 PM   #113
o_stino
 
o_stino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesium
Nah, sadly it's not the job of the FF dev team to arrange HL2DM hosting for unfinished unofficial 3rd party maps Seems to me that we'd need to sort this out amongst ourselves. So, does anyone has the ability to host an HL2DM server, or know someone else who does? It doesn't need to be a good server, anything is better than nothing.

Obviously we'd want sv_airaccelerate up, and cheats enabled so ppl can noclip to pretend to conc etc This would be really useful tbh for finding bugs and getting an idea for how areas will feel and play in FF. Would probably be useful to have a votemap system running as well as a map rotation, so ppl can load up the map they want.
maybe cags.nl can get some hl2dm servers running, gonna talk with the chief when he's online.
o_stino is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-12-2006, 11:39 PM   #114
o_arsenalfc
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
what happened to beta2?
o_arsenalfc is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-12-2006, 11:45 PM   #115
o_player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Europe
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesium
...as I'm going away for a week right now.
Here is the reason as to why beta2 has not been released yet.
o_player is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-14-2006, 01:02 PM   #116
o_ambex
 
o_ambex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
We need to talk here Caesium about your map.

I like it but there is some stuff that is different.

First off, how to say the underground area leading from the water route to a catacomb place is strange. When you walk around there it feels like you're down the 2forts basement
and the flagroom. I found some strange gordon freeman button in a corner of the room, if you press it then you teleport to a tube(?) or a glass-room where you can't do anything. What is the point of this?

Now about the outside area, it is very big me likes it, the inside base is not that complex and bad, I like the idea and the layout.

But to say honestly there is only one spawnroom and I am dissapointed over one thing. In the edge of the base there is some battlements area where you can see the outside area through a glass-window. Why is it bullet-proof? If so why can't you destroy it? It would be more fun if that were possible in a a way. So well, overall the map is well done and needs some better textures on the floor and the walls, and maybye some other lighting or something that similar.

Keep on movin'!
o_ambex is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-14-2006, 02:57 PM   #117
o_caesium
 
o_caesium's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambex
First off, how to say the underground area leading from the water route to a catacomb place is strange. When you walk around there it feels like you're down the 2forts basement and the flagroom.
Errr...that's the idea... Read this thread if you want to know why. I don't like explaining things twice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambex
I found some strange gordon freeman button in a corner of the room, if you press it then you teleport to a tube(?) or a glass-room where you can't do anything. What is the point of this?
Again, read this thread, but basically, it's for prematch entertainment Have you ever played clan TFC btw?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambex
But to say honestly there is only one spawnroom and I am dissapointed over one thing. In the edge of the base there is some battlements area where you can see the outside area through a glass-window. Why is it bullet-proof? If so why can't you destroy it? It would be more fun if that were possible in a a way.
Firstly, there is intentionally only one spawn in order to reduce the random luck introduced by spawning at the "wrong" point during a clan match. Secondly, are you really trying to say that you think the front window should be destoyable?!!!! If you actually think that's a good idea then LOL... It would basically just leave 2 undefendable flags at either end of a large area. I suggest you think a little bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambex
So well, overall the map is well done and needs some better textures on the floor and the walls, and maybye some other lighting or something that similar.
This was the only bit of your post that made me think you had something useful to say, but you need to say what you think needs changing, exactly how, and why, please. Beta2 already has a lot of work done on the texturing (though the look is much along the same lines as beta1, just much more polished). The lighting, however, is something I am pretty happy with atm, but if you have any specific suggestions please explain them in detail and explain why. I look forward to hearing any useful suggestions if you do have any...
o_caesium is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-14-2006, 03:22 PM   #118
o_luminous
 
o_luminous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
caes u on irc anywhere atm?
o_luminous is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-14-2006, 11:15 PM   #119
o_lazy eye
 
o_lazy eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Uh would i just play this on HL2 DM???
o_lazy eye is offline   Reply With Quote


Old 04-14-2006, 11:37 PM   #120
o_nezumi
 
o_nezumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Peoples Republic of Harmfull Free Radicals
Posts Rated Helpful 0 Times
Ok, something that keeps slipping my mind.

The balcony to the outside from the spawnroom is a little exposed. There's nothing stopping anyone from jumping up there and spamming the crap out of the spawn. This might not be such a problem in a clan match but it would probably get kinda old in a pub game.

Were you planning on putting some sort of rock2 style trigger_hurt across the door or anything? (and maybe a non-solid brush with the effects/com_shield003a texture on it? If you perhaps do decide to use this texture I've got a red version of it you can use...)

Unless you were planning it as a sneaky way into the base. If you can get to the interior door without being seen you might be able to slip through when someone opens it.
o_nezumi is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.